AIM = I AM

Transcript of the Feature ‘Health Matters’ nr. 45 on Radio X from 20 October 2014

I’m Tom Meyers and welcome to another episode of Health Matters. In Health Matters I share with you my professional experience as an osteopath and stress coach, bring you scientific insights and pass on practical tips how to manage stress and improve your health and well-being.

In last weeks episode, I talked about the benefits of becoming mindful of your bodies limits, of what it can handle. Don’t get me wrong your body is amazing but trop is the veel en the veel is trop as they say here in Belgium. Therefore get to know your limits and act accordingly.

Last week I also asked you to ponder upon the meaning of the metaphor ‘Only a king can dream a Kingdom’. It’s a quote from the personal development book the School for Gods written by professor Stefano d’Anna. Actually the quote goes ‘Only a King can dream Versailles…’ but that is just between you  and me 😉

School for Gods Book Cover

When it comes to health and wellbeing knowing who you are and who you were born to be are just as important as knowing the limits and resources of your body.

Let me illustrate.

Imagine your dream is to become a King but you are NOT born in a royal family then the likelihood you’ll ever be a king is very slim and Versailles or a kingdom far off. You don’t hear me say that becoming a king or having a kingdom is impossible but however and I hope you agree, highly unlikely. But lets say just for the sake of it that you managed somehow against all odds and probably with enormous sacrifices to become a King, then the question remains will you be living a meaningful and happy life or always live in fear for loosing it? Fear, means stress and chronic stress leads to illness and so on…

In other words you can aim for anything you wish for… but it doesn’t mean it will bring you happiness or health… on the contrary some aims can make you sick.

And after all AIM is the acronym for I AM and therefore knowing who you are, what your heart truly desire becomes part of the health equation! Your heart, not your mind.

And these kind of questions, reflections on one self have everything to do with personal development… or the conscious pursuit of self-realisation by expanding your self-awareness and by nourishing and honing your innate potential.

In other words personal development is reaching out to living your heart’s desire, to become who you were born to be and is essential for finding happiness and fulfilment and contribute to health and wellbeing.

Do I still have your attention?

In the coming weeks I will share with you my personal story how three questions put to me 14 years ago saved my life and contributed to who I am today and which can help you too, on your journey of self-realisation and improved health and wellbeing.

That’s all for this episode of Health Matters have a great day and I’ll catch up with you again next week here on Radio X or why not subscribe to the Health Matters podcast or Facebook page so you don’t miss any future feature or bonus episodes and articles. You can also find this episode as an article in next months Together Magazine to get to it go to my website www.tommeyers.be

RadioX

Leave a Reply

